"Channel Orange" Review

This album has been out for a couple of weeks now and I know everyone is thinking “what took you so long to review this?”, but in my defense, this album went much slower than I did! Facebook and Twitter went bonkers over the release of this album and based off all of the hype, I figured I needed to cop this album. Needless to say, I am flipping my room upside down looking for the receipt.

I know many of you here think I only write positive reviews for albums or only write about albums I like. Not at all. “Channel Orange” was probably one of the worst experiences of my life. I won’t deny that Frank Ocean has talent; I do believe that he does. However, “Channel Orange” was long, drawn out and dragged. If I ever need a soundtrack for pain and sorrow, I found one! No track popped out to me and each song truly did sound like the song that came before and after it. I will even go out and say the best part of the album was Andre 3000’s bars on “Pink Matter.”

Also, I may upset a few people on this one but I can’t be the only one who thought Frank Ocean’s coming out about being a bisexual was a publicity stunt. Before people get their panties in a bunch, Da Boss Is Speakin is definitely a supporter of the LGBT movement. However, it was just pretty convenient for Frank Ocean to announce this news and then release the album one week after that… earlier than it was supposed to be released. This was almost as much of a publicity stunt as Rihanna finally talking to the media after MONTHS of silence about the incident with Chris Brown, conveniently around her albums release. I digress.

Verdict on “Channel Orange”: Snoozer. Listening to this album was pretty similar to listening to rain late night as you drift off into sleep. I definitely hope that Frank Ocean steps it up with the next album minus the publicity stunt!

Posted on July 22, 2012, in Music and Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

